Today, in excrutiating details.

I thought it could be fun (or not) to have some kind of “live post” about my day today. Like i said im at a student fair in Umeå.
Right now it’s 9 am, i have been there for 30 min, my stand is ready and i already talked to 3 students. Great. But in english. Sucks. It’s too early and im too cold to concentrate on swedish. Plus, i don’t wanna be rude but people here have a weird accent.

9.06 am: got the “aren t french people rude?” question already. Bummer.

9.13 am: the girl at the stand in front of me has candies… bunch of students are blocking the way though….why do they wear their pants so low…might as well not wear anything…

9.28 am: i’ve been asked if i was swedish. The fact that i speak swedish like a spanish cow (total word for word translation of a wonderful french idiom) doesn’t seem to be giving them a clue.

9.53 am: im cold. im desperate to meet a student who actually knows about us.

10.am: i think i made a friend. The guy on the other side offered to get me some coffee. What about a survival blanket?

10.11 am: jag pratade svenska !!! I spoke swedish. And she said i was good.

10.17 am: btw, i didn’t have time to say that but 127 hours was not good. I do not think it will win him an oscar. He can do sooo much better than that. Im sure of it. If you wanna know about the story, watch this instead. Honestly.

10.27 am: here we go. The “i need to pee but can i leave the stand alone” moment. I used to think “what the hell, we’re in Sweden” and twice that proved to be a bad idea. The first time my purse got stolen, the second time the trestle with our name was taken (still wondering what on earth you can do of a stolen trestle with another agency’s name on it..)

11.11 am: (make a wish) ok im gonna have to go to the restrooms. Of course that’s exactly when all the students are gonna come rushing to my stand asking about France. How typical.

12.39: so on my way to the restroom i came across the lunch room and thought what the hell, lets eat. It was nice. And warmed me up a bit. I also realized that “Blondinbella” was the guest speaker of the fair, a very famous swedish blogger. And honeslty im quite puzzled. I mean it’s a student fair, im not quite sure i understand what she is doing here…appart from the “attractive” thought of having a “famous/fashion/beautiful” speaker…the room was packed so i guess she has an important message to deliver. Im gonna have a look at 13.00

13.28: ok. I’ve been. I’ve seen. I’ve listened. And im shocked. Here comes this good looking, succesful, outgoing 20 years old in front of a room full of  very impressionable 16-18 years old. And what kind of message is she here to deliver? Basically “how to get tones of money through blogging so you don’t really have to work and can go out to super fancy parties every nights“. I mean OMG. I now understand swedish enough to know that saying “i started my blog at 15 and by 17 i could live off of it, so i got my own place, but i wanted more money so…”   to kids coming for a student fair, to pick their studies, their jobs, their future is NOT OK.
Don’t get me wrong. It’s great what happened to her. Wonderful. She is living her dream and she sounds like a smart girl who knows what she wants. And actually i understand that the main message to those kids must be “live your dream, be strong, you can set goals and achieve them” but unfortunatly they are just kids and i just don’t think it’s appropriate to tell a bunch of teenagers that that’s life. That if they start a blog they’ll get rich and succesful. Im afraid they might not be able to understand the core concept.

14.11: i wonder if i could be any good at drawing…. i never really tried. My sis is the artist so i never really given it much thoughts…

14.29: damn it The candy lady is packing up.

15.00: ok people are leaving. I m gonna go soon. Don’t really know where to go till my flight though. It’s not like i can walk around the city, it’s minus 20 people ! Anyway, that was fun. Bye bye.

3 thoughts on “Today, in excrutiating details.

  1. I love your recap, so funny:)

    And I can so identify with the “gotta go pee but i can’t” feeling when I’m manning a booth!

    xx

Leave a Reply

