True tales of American life

True tales of American life is one of my favorite books. It is one of Paul Auster’s. But somehow it is not really his. It’s every americans. Because it gathers short true stories sent by american citizens after Auster launched a call for true / wonderful / original / moving american stories on the radio. It is a wonderful book.
He also wrote The Brooklyn Follies. Another good read.

Paul Auster was in Stockholm last week. For the first time in 9 years. He had a public interview at the House of Culture. Of course it was sold out. But the nice swedes were also showing it live in a small theater. That’s where my friend Alice and i were. It was really interesting to listen to Paul talk about his life, what inspires him, why and when he writes…eventhough the journalist they had picked to do the job really sucked.

One thought on “True tales of American life

  1. When I read that “the journalist they had picked to do the job really sucked” I couldn’t help but laugh inappropriately. It is so often that they do suck.

    I was unfamiliar with Paul Auster, but after reading your post I Googled him and then read the entry on him in Wikipedia, which quotes him as saying:

    “This idea of contrasts, contradictions, paradox, I think, gets very much to the heart of what novel writing is for me. It’s a way for me to express my own contradictions.”

    It must have been very interesting to hear him despite the journalist sucking.

Leave a Reply

